Startin to work on the Clone Runner

General Mopar Related Conversation

Moderator: Site Administrators

Re: Startin to work on the Clone Runner

Postby 71bird on Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:03 pm

Because the body structure won't be sitting square when it's on the suspension. Any unibody is built in a jig, so that everything is lined up, and square when it's welded. It should be locked down on a body jig like AMD does, and the factory did. I saw a GTX that had all of the rear floor pans, and trunk pans replaced this way, and the body was so warped that it all had to be tore back out and redone , but the second time it was on a jig. Call AMD, and ask them. Just trying to help.
71 Road Runner - J68
71bird
GTX (RS)
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 10:17 pm
Location: morristown,tn.

Re: Startin to work on the Clone Runner

Postby 71Beeper on Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:58 am

Many Thanks for the info 71bird.
I do have frame connectors on the car, so I hope that would make it more sturdier.
In addition I do have rear torque boxes in place too.
The trunk pan is welded in now, but this will be a live and learn lesson for me.
Lots of good things to learn here at the nest! :D
71Beeper
GTX (RS)
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 5:27 pm
Location: Stoney Creek Ontario Canada

Re: Startin to work on the Clone Runner

Postby rr6pak on Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:38 am

Also, if you're planning on sub frame connectors, they should be installed as well while its on a jig
User avatar
rr6pak
GTX (RS)
 
Posts: 963
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: USA

Re: Startin to work on the Clone Runner

Postby 71Beeper on Sat Aug 05, 2017 3:59 pm

Frame connectors were already there when I bought the car. :D
71Beeper
GTX (RS)
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 5:27 pm
Location: Stoney Creek Ontario Canada

Previous

Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron